Leave a comment

Bhagavad-Gita Chapter 17, Verse 7

Chapter 17: The Divisions of Faith
aharas tv api sarvasya 
tri-vidho bhavati priyah 
yajnas tapas tatha danam 
tesham bhedam imam srinu 

Even the food each person prefers is of three kinds, according to the three modes of material nature. The same is true of sacrifices, austerities and charity. Now hear of the distinctions between them. 

Individuals are not exclusively in one of the three modes. Rather they are influenced by a unique combination of the modes. The three modes are compares to the three primary colors; goodness to yellow, passion to red and ignorance to blue. By mixing these colors over and over again an infinite variety of secondary colors are created. Similarly by a combination of these three modes there are inummerable subtle bodies created which form the basis of the unique personality of each and every conditioned soul. Just like red and pink colors are similar in the primary shade but differ in the shades, people could be identified with the predominant mode, though their exact propensity would depden on the subtle mixing of the modes. 

In thirteen verses (17.7-19) Krishna gives prominent indicators by which people the primary or dominant mode of the people could be identified. These indicators are the types of sacrifices, austerities and charity performed by such people. 

Please read the Sanskrit Verse and the Prabhupada's Purport.

You can view the previous verses at the following address:http://groups.google.com/group/bgdailyverses

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: